Thoughts on Rest

I am in Maryland with my parents this weekend. I decided only a few days ago to drive up with Meg yesterday. It is to be a weekend of rest. Resting is not my best skill. I’m finding that I have to train myself how to rest because my attempts are feeble at best during the week. I think my mind doesn’t like the idea of rest because it feels idle.  It’s interesting though because I find that when I force rest on my brain, it somehow produces the most creativity. It’s as though it doesn’t recognize the need to ‘take a breath’ and relax. The more I have been able to rest, the more I see developing in me.

I would also like to take this opportunity to share this Letter from Martin Luther on Spiritual Warefare that was sent to me. Spiritual warfare has been on my mind a bit lately. I wanted to start this year differently than I have, but after reading this, I think perhaps what needs to change is my point of view. It’s not entirely that things don’t always turn out the way I want them to, but rather which influences I have given a hold on me as I reflect on the first few weeks.

Leave a Reply

